Working from Home or “Man, I Miss the Office!”

Since undergoing leg surgery in late February, I have had the experience of being home forthe majority of the last 2 1/2 months, with most of that time spent lying in bed with my leg up in the air. I live in an apartment and I went stir crazy for the first three weeks after surgery but in the beginning, was able to spend time reconnecting with my parents and enjoying my mom’s cooking while they were here to take care of me. I learned how great it is to have friends and family who go out of their way to care for you when you are ill. I started blogging after that surgery, which I really enjoy, and I learned to live without cable, which really hasn’t been as much of an inconvenience as it was when it was connected.

Then I got to go back to work half-time for a whole week before developing complications requiring a second surgery in early April. The last 5 weeks have again been spent primarily at home, lying in bed, leg elevated. This time my parents were gone and I was home alone, since my roommates are invisible. Not really! I just never see them. Geez. You were thinking I need to get out more, huh? I have developed a great appreciation for Netflix and have thoroughly enjoyed watching classic tv shows and movies. However, as a result of this forced vacation, my time off had been dwindling, so I have been fortunate enough to be able to work from home the past 2 weeks. Surprisingly, this has proven more challenging than first imagined.

I guess I was like everyone else. “Boy must be nice to work from home. Sure wish I could do that. Get a real job!”.  I always pictured the “work from home” scenario as a dream environment. Work without distraction. Get everything done in half the time. Relax and work in your underwear. Ok, forget I said that one and for heaven’s sake don’t visualize it. “AAAHHH!! My eyes!!!!!.” So sorry. I will list  a counselor’s name and number at the end of this post. This is a family friendly site, so imagine pajamas instead. Big pajamas. I also realized the other advantages of working from home. No more expensive lunches, parking fees, difficulties of being at the office, etc..

GEEZ I MISS THOSE THINGS!

I am SO looking forward to getting back to work! I have been doing data entry by logging in from home for the past 8 days, and just let me say it is not my higher calling. Suddenly everything else in my apartment needs my attention.

“The stove has to be cleaned, right now.”

“This bathroom! Holy cow, when did it get so dirty?”

“Look at those blinds!”

Now, I am male, very very male. The mere idea of me wanting to clean something should give you some insight into my need to get back to work. I am getting the data entry done, 4 hours a day, as agreed, and I have a new respect for people who can sit in front of a screen 8 hours a day entering data. But I also learned I need to see and talk to real people!

By the way, I have developed a fair degree of input speed using my newly developed reclined typing posture. I lie on my back with my good leg flexed and the laptop perched vertically between my good knee and my stomach, which makes a very nice platform by the way. It’s squishy enough to keep this laptop balanced well, but firm enough that it doesn’t vanish into the abyss. Sorry, too much personal info again?  I actually may use this technique when I go back to the office, since sitting with my leg up in a chair and beading over to use the keyboard is an awful strain on  my lower back. Does a great hamstring stretch though.

Well, like I said, I am doing data entry for 4 hours a day and the clock is about to start, so I need to get to it.

“HMMM, that carpet spot wasn’t here yesterday.”

“I sure am hungry.”

“I need to call the folks”.

See what I mean? Now, where did I put my glasses?

4 thoughts on “Working from Home or “Man, I Miss the Office!”

  1. Awwwwww…it won’t be much longer and you will be back in full swing at the office! Though now I’m wondering how to send Mom’s home cooking to you through the mail. But, then I remember the food stash you have in all those drawers and shelves – and I think to myself – there’s always his favorite available……..Spam. *sigh*

    Love and miss you!! Hang in there!

    PS – Roll over…your’ glasses are probably somewhere on… or under the bed. *grin*

  2. Oh, I can only imagine!! I know you miss your patients & they miss you, not to mention your co-workers. 🙂 I’m glad you get sometime work from home, though, so you don’t have to burn through all your time.

Leave a Reply

