Procrastination

Do you know anyone like this? You come into their office and they are daydreaming or looking at the computer screen but not working.

“Hey. What are you doing? We have that project due next week.”

“Yeah, I know I am supposed to be working on the project. As you can see, I am not”.  

“Why not?”

“Because I am not.”

“Again, why not?”

“Because I am procrastinating. Can’t you  see I am busy not being busy?” 

Well, yeah and you are kind of aggravating me since you have half the project to finish, just like me. So tell me again. Slowly. WHY AREN’T YOU WORKING ON IT?”

“Because I don;t want to do it.”

“WELL BIG WHOOP! Neither do I, but that really is irrelevant, isn’t it? The boss wants it Monday, so guess what? It has to be done BEFORE Monday. Why?”

“Because it sucks.”

“Well yes that is correct, but the reason is that it is DUE Monday, so we have to have it finished and ready to go by at least Sunday, and really, I would like to finish it by Friday, since I have other plans this weekend.”

“Why?”

“Because I want to do something else. Don’t you?”

“I don;t know. I’ll tell you later.”

Grabbing him by the shirt, breathing heavy, and growling your best Clint Eastwood voice . “Look. I really am growing tired of this. Today is Thursday and I want the project done tomorrow. Got it? You start working on your part now!”

Unphased. “I might, but I will likely call you later and see when you want to get together this weekend. how about Sunday night?”

Silence. Gun cocking.

“Ok, I’ll think about it”.

What is it about these people? I tend to put things off and often seem to work under a lot of pressure to get things done. I get stressed about it but typically the end result is pretty good because I stay focused. When I have too much time to work on something, I tend to get distracted and lose my momentum. So, then I end up picking the project up at the end and finishing just under the gun. Maybe those of us who are die hard procrastinators have a need for adrenaline. Maybe we have to feel like we are gonna get fired if we don;t get it done to perform. I don;t know why it gets that way, but I have done it forever. I plan on doing better the next time, but rarely do change the pattern for any length of time. So, as I write this I have a big project I should be working on.

Guess what I am doing instead?

Thanks for reading. I will call on you as a witness if I get in trouble for not getting it done, but you know what, I will. And it will be awesome!

My next post may be on denial.

2 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. There’s an old saying, which I believe is true: “There’s no limit to the amount of work you can get done, as long as it isn’t what you’re supposed to be doing!”

Leave a Reply

